satellite map of Mongolia

Satellite view of Mongolia and Inner Mongolia. The Mongolian Plateau is divided politically into the independent state of Mongolia, also called Outer Mongolia, in the north, and the Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region of China in the south. The Gobi straddles the central part of the border. Credits: NASA/Ginger Allington